'Tis Witching Hour... Reviews

Psychozine Review - May 2013

Psychozine Review - May 2013

 http://www.psychozine.eu/modules.php?name=Reviews&rop=showcontent&id=3062

Ten brytyjski zespół raczej nie jest szerzej znany na naszym krajowym rynku. Brytole mają w swoim dorobku demówkę, split z „cultowym” The Meads of Asphodel ( wydana w 2010 roku ), teraz przychodzi zmierzyć się im z debiutem. Został on wydany przez Godreah Records ( ten sam label co wydał wspomniany wcześniej split ).
Na „Tis Witching Hour...” usłyszymy dziesięć kompozycji, trwających prawie godzinę.
Nie sposób jednoznacznie sklasyfikować gatunku jaki gra Old Corpse Road, jest to na pewno black metal, jednak z bardzo szerokim spektrum stylistycznym. W niektórych kompozycjach czujemy ducha, bardzo pierwotnego, dzikiego black metalu, w innych słychać zapożyczenia do folk metalu w kolejnych mocnego brutalnego i szybkiego death metalu.

Read more: Psychozine Review - May 2013

Hellbound.ca Review - May 2013

Hellbound.ca Review - May 2013

 http://www.hellbound.ca/2013/05/old-corpse-road-tis-witching-houras-spectres-we-haunt-this-kingdom/

By Steve Earles

Having been involved in the underground for a long time, I’ve encountered so many bad generic bands (ironically, as the music business implodes, and we reach the stage where no new band can hope to make even an existence never mind a living from their music, we find ourselves inundated with a tsunami of truly awful bands), when I first encountered Old Corpse Road, they were a breath of fresh air, I wrote that they had ‘all the strengths of black metal and none of it’s weaknesses’, something that is so evident on their debut full-length album (following a very well-received demo and a split album with British underground legends The Meads of Asphodel).

Read more: Hellbound.ca Review - May 2013

Sea of Tranquility Review - Apr 2013

Sea of Tranquility Review - Apr 2013

http://www.seaoftranquility.org/reviews.php?op=showcontent&id=14433


I suppose the name of the band, Old Corpse Road, and album title, 'Tis Witching Hour…As Spectres we Haunt this Kingdom, it is relatively easy to discern where this band is coming from. Symphonic black metal is the name of the game and the band does it quite well.

Read more: Sea of Tranquility Review - Apr 2013